project. W I E Berlin

we.png

title.

duration.

project partner.

 

exhibition.

Histories of Escape during a Divided Germany in Virtual Reality

08.2018 - 03.2020

Three Space Lab

REALITAETENLABOR

Kulturprojekte Berlin

30th anniversay Peaceful Revolution / Mauerfall

project description. 

The German division is one of the most defining times in the history of Germany. The project W I E Berlin is a virtual reality (VR) documentary about escape and escape assistance from East to West Germany and was first exhibited in November 2019 on the occasion of the 30th anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution / Fall of the Wall. For this project, we recorded interviews with contemporary witnesses using the new Volumetric Video Capture technology and recreated their experiences in virtual reality. The VR technology allows us to bring these stories of courage and determination to life in an immersive format. The project was conceived as part of the MIT Media Lab Berlin Workshop 2018. During this event, a team of international PhD students sought to use the medium of VR to create an immersive learning experience. In the course of the following years, the team members, with the support of Three Space Lab and Kulturprojekte Berlin, interviewed further eyewitnesses and completed the project with five of the seven eyewitness reports in March 2020.

project implementation.

Dr. Burkhart Veigel - escape assistance

veigel.png

SEQUENZ: In the scene, you are in the driver's seat of a converted Cadillac while Dr. Veigel explains to you how the escape driving was carried out.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

IMPLEMENTATION:

Gavin McDowell, Wiley Corning* & Simon Schwär*

ART*:

Jakob J. Korbel & Jovana Plavšić

Dr. Burkhart Veigel was born in Eisfeld, Thuringia, in 1938 and came to West Berlin in spring 1961 to study medicine at the Freie Universität. When he returned to the divided city for the winter semester of 1961, he began helping people escape from the GDR. Until January 1962, he was active as a "star runner" in the so-called Girrmann Group, after which he organised his own group of escape helpers together with some fellow students. Together they dug tunnels and converted cars into escape vehicles. The Ministry for State Security kept a close eye on Veigel's activities and tried to kidnap him. Veigel then left West Berlin and moved to Hanover in 1969. During his time as an escape assistant, he helped about 650 people flee to the West. In 1976, he settled in Stuttgart as an orthopaedist and sports physician. In 2007, Burkhart Veigel moved back to Berlin to do research on the past of the divided city, especially on escape and escape assistance. This resulted in his book "Wege durch die Mauer - Fluchthilfe und Stasi zwischen Ost und West" and the novel "FREI". In 2012, he was awarded the Federal Cross of Merit on Ribbon for the work he had done to help refugees.

INTERVIEW*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Simon Schwär & Robin Schweigert

*contributed equally

Joachim Rudolph - escape & escape assistance

rudolph.png

SEQUENZ: In the scene, Mr. Rudolph explains the process of the escape across the Green Border, while the narration is accompanied by audio-visuals.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION:

Luca Beisel

IMPLEMENTATION:

Luca Beisel & Wiley Corning

ART:

Luca Beisel

Joachim Rudolph was born in East Brandenburg, which has been part of present-day Poland since 1945. He grew up in East Berlin and as a fourteen-year-old witnessed the popular uprising of the 17th of June 1953 and the building of the Wall on 13th of August 1961. After graduating from high school, he first did an apprenticeship as an electrical fitter at the Reichsbahnausbesserungswerk in Schöneweide before taking up studies in Dresden. After the Wall was built, he decided to leave the GDR with a friend. In September 1961, they both waded from Schildow through the Tegeler Fließ across the border barriers towards Lübars. Once in West Berlin, he resumed his studies and joined a group of students at the Technische Universität Berlin who dug a tunnel under Bernauer Strasse towards East Berlin. On the 14th of September 1962, the breakthrough was successful and 29 GDR citizens made their way to West Berlin through the tunnel, which was therefore named "Tunnel 29". After this successful escape assistance, Rudolph participated in the construction of two more tunnels. These projects were uncovered by the Ministry for State Security. The refugees and some of the escape helpers were arrested. In 2012, he received the Federal Cross of Merit on Ribbon for the escape assistance he had provided.

INTERVIEW*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Simon Schwär & Robin Schweigert

*contributed equally

Marion - escape

marion.PNG

SEQUENZ: In the scene, you go through the escape described, starting from the Michendorf motorway service station to your arrival in West Germany.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald & Sara Lisa Vogl

IMPLEMENTATION:

Wiley Corning & Simon Schwär

ART:

VRHUMAN (Vladimir Ilic) & Wiley Corning

Marion was born and grew up in Saxony-Anhalt. At the age of 19, she already made the decision to leave East Germany because she felt imprisoned in the GDR and did not want to raise her children later in a state that had drawn a fence around its citizens. As she did not want to flee in a way that would risk her life, the opportunity only arose after she had completed her studies. In 1975, she and two friends decided to use the services of an escape company that transported GDR citizens from East to West Germany in cars for 10,000 D-marks. They met at the Michendorf motorway service station, also known as the "lion's den", and drove from there towards Helmstedt. During the escape, the three climbed into the boot via the back seat. At the border, the vehicle was checked, but not the boot. Once in West Germany, Marion moved to West Berlin after a short stay in Hamburg, where she still lives today. Due to an informer who passed information to the state security about the escapes for a 50 D-mark bounty, the three subsequent escape attempts were uncovered at the border and the refugees as well as the drivers were sentenced to prison.

INTERVIEW*:

Jerome Huber, Jakob J. Korbel, Sara Lisa Vogl

*contributed equally

Ralph Kabisch - escape assistance

kabisch.png

SEQUENZ: The scene describes the construction of tunnel 57 and the process and organisation of the escape through it.

 

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION:

Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Gavin McDowell & Jovana Plavšić

IMPLEMENTATION:

Gavin McDowell & Jakob J. Korbel

ART*:

Jovana Plavšić, Gavin McDowell, Jakob J. Korbel & Raimundo Gonzalez

Ralph Kabisch was born in Görlitz in 1942 and came to West Berlin in October 1961 to begin his studies. In the newly divided city, those who wanted to help their friends and relatives escape from the GDR quickly came together among the students. In 1964, he joined the group led by Wolfgang Fuchs, one of the best-known escape helpers, to bring his cousin from Görlitz to the West. Together with around 25 other students, they worked on "Tunnel 57". After six months of excavation work, 57 people were able to escape through the tunnel. His cousin, however, was not among them. Afterwards, he was involved in escape operations using a converted Cadillac. During one of these escapes, he noticed on the 18th of November 1967 that he was being watched and followed; he then abandoned the planned escape, was arrested on the 19th of November and convicted. On the 9th of May 1968, he was released on the basis of an amnesty and returned to the Federal Republic. He stopped helping people escape and, after completing his studies, began his professional career, which also took him abroad to work on various railway tunnel projects. In 2012, he received the Federal Cross of Merit on Ribbon for the escape assistance he provided.

INTERVIEW*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Simon Schwär & Robin Schweigert

*contributed equally

Sabine Braun - Flucht

braun.png

SEQUENZ: In the scene, you are at the Prague embassy and widness the departure from Prague to Hof.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald & Sara Lisa Vogl

IMPLEMENTATION:

Wiley Corning & Simon Schwär

ART:

Silvana Vásquez-Keller, Wiley Corning, Jakob J. Korbel & Simon Schwär

Sabine Braun grew up in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern and moved to East Berlin to study and work. The desire to leave the GDR, to leave the confines of the country behind, to travel and to be able to visit her family in the West, already matured in the early 1980s. However, she did not apply to leave the country because she feared reprisals. When she set off on a trip to Prague with her partner on the 23th of September 1989, they immediately sensed the explosive atmosphere in the city. Thousands of GDR citizens were in Prague to force their way out by camping on the grounds of the West German embassy. They decided to try to find a way onto the grounds of the Prague embassy as well, which they succeeded in doing. On the 30 th of September 1989, Hans-Dietrich Genscher spoke to the embassy refugees and announced their departure from Prague to West Germany. The refugees were then able to leave Prague by train, albeit through the territory of the GDR, and arrived in the Bavarian town of Hof on the 1st of October. After a stay in Bayreuth, Sabine Braun and her partner took a plane from Nuremberg to West Berlin on the 7th of October, the 40th anniversary of the GDR. From the plane she could see her old flat in East Berlin.

INTERVIEW*:

Jerome Huber, Jakob J. Korbel, Sara Lisa Vogl

*contributed equally

credits.

​​

Executive Producer:
 

 

Project Team:




 

 

Special Thanks:


 

 

Support From:

Scott Greenwald, Three Space Lab Inc.
Jakob J. Korbel, Technische Universität Berlin


Luca Beisel
Wiley Corning
Raimundo Gonzalez
Jerome Huber
Taru Muhonen
Gavin McDowell


Diana Avramica
Cristina Dobre
Ariane Ecker
Ryuta Fujii


EyeEm Mobile GmbH
Paul Martin, HP Inc.


Jovana Plavšić
Simon Schwär
Robin Schweigert
Silvana Vásquez-Keller
Sara Lisa Vogl
VRHUMAN (Vladimir Ilic)


Klaudia Krawiecka
Alex Laiman
MIT Media Lab
Vive X Tel Aviv


Philipp Neuhaus

project partner.

The project was carried out in collaboration between Three Space Lab Inc. and REALITAETENLABOR.

3SL.png
Real_logooooooo.png

project funding.

The project was funded by Kulturprojekte Berlin as part of the exhibition on the 30th anniversary of the Peaceful Revolution / Fall of the Wall.

Kulturprojekte_edited.jpg

projekt. W I E Berlin

we.png

titel.

laufzeit.

projektpartner.

 

ausstellung.

Geschichten von Flucht- und Fluchthilfe zur Zeit der Deutschen Teilung in Virtual Reality

08.2018 - 03.2020

Three Space Lab

REALITAETENLABOR

Kulturprojekte Berlin

30 Jahre friedliche Revolution / Mauerfall

projektbeschreibung. 

Für Deutschland ist kaum eine Epoche so prägend, wie die Zeit der Deutschen Teilung. Das Projekt W I E Berlin ist eine Virtual Reality (VR) Dokumentation über Flucht und Fluchthilfe von Ost- nach Westdeutschland und wurde erstmals im November 2019 anlässlich des 30jährigen Jubiläums des Mauerfalls / Friedliche Revolution ausgestellt. Hierfür haben wir mittels der neuartigen Volumetric Video Capture Technologie Interviews mit Zeitzeug:innen aufgenommen und ihre Erlebnisse in Virtual Reality nachgebildet. Die neue Technology erlaubt es uns, diese Geschichten von Mut und Entschlossenheit in einem immersiven Format erfahrbar zu machen. Das Projekt wurde im Rahmen des MIT Media Lab Berlin Workshops 2018 konzipiert. Während dieser Veranstaltung versuchte ein Team von internationalen Doktorand:innen, das Medium VR zu nutzen, um eine immersive Lernerfahrung zu schaffen. Im Laufe der folgenden Jahre befragten die Teammitglieder mit Unterstützung von Three Space Lab und Kulturprojekte Berlin weitere Zeitzeug:innen und stellte die Anwendung im März 2020 mit fünf der sieben Zeitzeug:innenberichte fertig.

projektumsetzung.

Dr. Burkhart Veigel - Fluchthilfe

veigel.png

SEQUENZ: In der Szene befinden Sie sich auf dem Fahrersitz eines umgebauten Cadillacs, während Herr Dr. Veigel ihnen erläutert, wie die Fluchtfahrten durchgeführt wurde.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

IMPLEMENTATION:

Gavin McDowell, Wiley Corning* & Simon Schwär*

ART*:

Jakob J. Korbel & Jovana Plavšić

Dr. Burkhart Veigel wurde 1938 in Eisfeld, Thüringen geboren und kam im Frühjahr 1961 nach West-Berlin, um an der Freien Universität Medizin zu studieren. Als er zum Wintersemester 1961 in die geteilte Stadt zurückkam, begann er damit, Menschen aus der DDR zur Flucht zu verhelfen. Bis Januar 1962 war er als „Starläufer“ in der sogenannten Girrmann-Gruppe aktiv, anschließend organisierte er zusammen mit einigen Kommilitonen eine eigene Fluchthelfergruppe. Gemeinsam gruben sie unter anderem Tunnel und bauten Autos zu Fluchtfahrzeugen um. Das Ministerium für Staatssicherheit beobachte die Vorgänge um Veigel genau und versuchte, ihn zu entführen. Daraufhin verließ Veigel West-Berlin und zog 1969 nach Hannover. Während seiner Zeit als Fluchthelfer verhalf er ca. 650 Menschen zur Flucht in den Westen. 1976 ließ er sich als Orthopäde und Sportmediziner in Stuttgart nieder. 2007 zog Burkhart Veigel wieder nach Berlin, um über die Vergangenheit der geteilten Stadt, speziell über Flucht und Fluchthilfe zu forschen. Daraus ist sein Buch „Wege durch die Mauer - Fluchthilfe und Stasi zwischen Ost und West“ und der Roman „FREI“ entstanden. 2012 erhielt er für die von ihm geleistete Fluchthilfedas Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande.

INTERVIEW*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Simon Schwär & Robin Schweigert

*contributed equally

Joachim Rudolph - Flucht & Fluchthilfe

rudolph.png

SEQUENZ: In der Szene erläutert Herr Rudolph den Ablauf der Flucht über die Grüne Grenze, während die Erzählung durch audiovisuelle Darstellungen begleitet wird.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION:

Luca Beisel

IMPLEMENTATION:

Luca Beisel & Wiley Corning

ART:

Luca Beisel

Joachim Rudolph stammt aus Ostbrandenburg, das seit 1945 zum heutigen Polen gehört. Er wuchs in Ost-Berlin auf und war als Vierzehnjähriger Zeuge des Volksaufstands vom 17. Juni 1953 sowie des Mauerbaus am 13. August 1961. Nach seinem Abitur machte er zunächst eine Lehre als Elektromontageschlosser im Reichsbahn-ausbesserungswerk Schöneweide, bevor er ein Studium in Dresden aufnahm. Nach dem Mauerbau reifte der Entschluss, gemeinsam mit einem Freund die DDR zu verlassen. Im September 1961 wateten beide von Schildow aus durch das Tegeler Fließ über die Grenzsperren Richtung Lübars. In West-Berlin angekommen, nahm er sein Studium wieder auf und schloss sich an der Technischen Universität Berlin einer Studierendengruppe an, die einen Tunnel unter der Bernauer Straße Richtung Ost-Berlin grub. Am 14. September 1962 gelang der Durchbruch und 29 DDR-Bürger gelangten durch den Tunnel, der deshalb den Namen „Tunnel 29“ trägt, nach West-Berlin. Nach dieser geglückten Aktion beteiligte sich Rudolph am Bau zweier weiterer Tunnel. Diese Vorhaben wurde vom Ministerium für Staatssicherheit aufgedeckt. Die Republikflüchtlinge sowie einige Fluchthelfer wurden verhaftet. 2012 erhielt er für die von ihm geleistete Fluchthilfe das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande.

INTERVIEW*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Simon Schwär & Robin Schweigert

*contributed equally

Marion - Flucht

marion.PNG

SEQUENZ: In der Szene durchlaufen Sie die be-schriebene Flucht, ausgehend von dem Autobahnrasthof Michendorf bis hin zur Ankunft in West-Deutschland.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald & Sara Lisa Vogl

IMPLEMENTATION:

Wiley Corning & Simon Schwär

ART:

VRHUMAN (Vladimir Ilic) & Wiley Corning

Marion ist in Sachsen-Anhalt geboren und aufgewachsen. Bereits mit 19 Jahren fasste sie den Entschluss, Ost-Deutschland verlassen zu wollen, da sie sich in der DDR eingesperrt fühlte und ihre Kinder später nicht in einem Staat großziehen wollte, der um seine Bürger einen Zaun gezogen hatte. Da sie nicht auf eine Weise flüchten wollte, bei der sie ihr Leben riskieren würde, ergab sich die Gelegenheit dazu erst nach Abschluss ihres Studiums. 1975 entschied sie sich mit zwei Freund*innen dazu, die Dienste eines Fluchthilfeunternehmens in Anspruch zu nehmen, dass DDR-Bürger für 10.000 D-Mark in Autos von Ost nach West-Deutschland brachte. Sie trafen sich am Autobahnrasthof Michendorf, auch die „Höhle des Löwen“ genannt, und fuhren von dort aus Richtung Helmstedt. Während der Fahrt stiegen die drei über die Rückbank in den Kofferraum. An der Grenze wurde das Fahrzeug kontrolliert, nicht aber der Kofferraum. In West-Deutschland angekommen, zog Marion nach einem kurzen Aufenthalt in Hamburg nach West-Berlin, wo sie bis heute lebt. Auf Grund eines Spitzels, der die Staatssicherheit über die Fluchtfahrten für 50 D-Mark
Kopfgeld informierte, wurden die drei darauffolgenden Fluchtfahrten an der Grenze aufgedeckt und die Flüchtenden, sowie die Fahrer zu Haftstrafen verurteilt.

INTERVIEW*:

Jerome Huber, Jakob J. Korbel, Sara Lisa Vogl

*contributed equally

Ralph Kabisch - Fluchthilfe

kabisch.png

SEQUENZ: In der Szene wird der Bau des Tunnels 57, sowie der Ablauf und die Organisation der Flucht durch eben jenen beschrieben.

 

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION:

Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Gavin McDowell & Jovana Plavšić

IMPLEMENTATION:

Gavin McDowell & Jakob J. Korbel

ART*:

Jovana Plavšić, Gavin McDowell, Jakob J. Korbel & Raimundo Gonzalez

Ralph Kabisch wurde 1942 in Görlitz geboren und kam im Oktober 1961 nach West-Berlin, um dort sein Studium aufzunehmen. In der gerade geteilten Stadt fanden sich unter den Studierenden rasch jene zusammen, die ihren Freunden und Angehörigen zur Flucht aus der DDR verhelfen wollten. 1964 schloss er sich der Gruppe um Wolfgang Fuchs an, einem der bekanntesten Fluchthelfer, um seine Cousine aus Görlitz in den Westen zu holen. Gemeinsam arbeiteten sie mit rund 25 weiteren Studierenden am „Tunnel 57“. Nach sechs Monaten Grabungsarbeiten konnten 57 Menschen durch den Tunnel fliehen. Seine Cousine war jedoch nicht dabei. Anschließend war er an Fluchthilfeaktionen mittels eines umgebauten Cadillacs beteiligt. Bei einem dieser Fluchtprojekte bemerkte er am 18. November 1967, dass er beobachtet und verfolgt wurde; er brach daraufhin das geplante Vorhaben ab, wurde am 19. November verhaftet und verurteilt. Am 9. Mai 1968 wurde er auf Grund einer Amnestie entlassen und kehrte in die Bundesrepublik zurück. Er beendete die Fluchthilfe und begann nach Abschluss des Studiums seine berufliche Laufbahn, die ihn auch ins Ausland zu verschiedenen Bahn-Tunnelprojekten führte. 2012 erhielt er für die von ihm geleistete Fluchthilfe das Bundesverdienstkreuz am Bande.

INTERVIEW*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald, Jakob J. Korbel, Simon Schwär & Robin Schweigert

*contributed equally

Sabine Braun - Flucht

braun.png

SEQUENZ: In der Szene befinden Sie sich an der Prager Botschaft und treten anschließend die Ausreise von Prag in Richtung Hof an.

PRODUCTION*:

Scott Greenwald & Jakob J. Korbel

DIRECTION*:

Wiley Corning, Scott Greenwald & Sara Lisa Vogl

IMPLEMENTATION:

Wiley Corning & Simon Schwär

ART:

Silvana Vásquez-Keller, Wiley Corning, Jakob J. Korbel & Simon Schwär

Sabine Braun ist in Mecklenburg-Vorpommern aufgewachsen und zog zum Studium und Arbeiten nach Ost-Berlin. Der Wunsch, die DDR zu verlassen, um die Enge des Landes hinter sich lassen, zu reisen und ihre Familie im Westen besuchen zu können, reifte bereits in den frühen 80iger Jahren. Einen Ausreiseantrag stellte sie jedoch nicht, da sie Repressalien fürchtete. Als sie am 23. September 1989 mit ihrem Lebensgefährten eine Reise nach Prag antrate, spürten sie sofort die explosive Stimmung in der Stadt. Tausende DDR-Bürger waren in Prag, um über das Kampieren auf dem Gelände der West-Deutschen Botschaft ihre Ausreise zu erzwingen. Sie entschlossen sich dazu, ebenfalls einen Weg auf das Gelände der Prager Botschaft zu suchen, was ihnen gelang. Am 30. September 1989 sprach Genscher zu den Botschaftsflüchtlingen und verkündete die Ausreise von Prag nach Westdeutschland. Daraufhin konnten die Flüchtlinge mit Zügen aus Prag ausreisen, allerdings durch das Gebiet der damaligen DDR, und trafen am 1. Oktober im bayerischen Hof ein. Nach einem Aufenthalt in Bayreuth flogen Sabine Braun und ihr Lebensgefährte von Nürnberg aus am 07. Oktober, dem 40. Jahrestags der DDR, mit dem Flugzeug nach West-Berlin. Aus dem Flugzeug konnte sie ihre alte Wohnung in Ost-Berlin sehen.

INTERVIEW*:

Jerome Huber, Jakob J. Korbel, Sara Lisa Vogl

*contributed equally

credits.

​​

Executive Producer:
 

 

Project Team:




 

 

Special Thanks:


 

 

Support From:

Scott Greenwald, Three Space Lab Inc.
Jakob J. Korbel, Technische Universität Berlin


Luca Beisel
Wiley Corning
Raimundo Gonzalez
Jerome Huber
Taru Muhonen
Gavin McDowell


Diana Avramica
Cristina Dobre
Ariane Ecker
Ryuta Fujii


EyeEm Mobile GmbH
Paul Martin, HP Inc.


Jovana Plavšić
Simon Schwär
Robin Schweigert
Silvana Vásquez-Keller
Sara Lisa Vogl
VRHUMAN (Vladimir Ilic)


Klaudia Krawiecka
Alex Laiman
MIT Media Lab
Vive X Tel Aviv


Philipp Neuhaus

projektpartner.

Das Projekt wurde in Zusammenarbeit zwischen der Three Space Lab Inc. und dem REALITAETENLABOR durchgeführt.

3SL.png
Real_logooooooo.png

projektförderung.

Das Projekt wurde im Rahmen der Ausstelung zu 30 Jahre Mauerfall / Friedliche Revolution gefördert durch Kulturprojekte Berlin.

Kulturprojekte_edited.jpg